2017 reading journey · Health and Wellbeing (mental, physical, emotional & spiritual)

Week 4: Choice, Chance, Change(ling). Goodreads Challenge Book 4.


Week 4 – 22nd of January 2017.

I hope everybody else had a wonderful week! Here in Queensland and across the Nation apparently, it was a stinker (very, very hot). I don’t think my Husband is much looking forward to the next electricity bill, thanks to the air conditioning usage. Australia does not have three months of ‘Summer’, especially not in Queensland. The best way to summarise the seasons is with the following meme (enjoy).

meanwhile in brisbane

However, I am a much nicer person when I am not boiling alive (a bit dramatic, sure). I woke up at around 2am on Tuesday and found there had been a complete power outage for our suburb and those around us. As my Husband discovered, you cannot reason with a tired, delusional, half-asleep person about privilege and first-world problems, such as temperature. I cried, it was pathetic.

I am loving the Sweat App/Exercise program by South Australian, Kayla Itsines. You can download the app onto your phone and it’s just the easiest option for me. It is not as rigid as other programs, I don’t look like a dickhead with some huge print-outs of paperwork, incorrectly performing exercise at the gym. It seems to be keeping me motivated. I know that I am a temperamental, yet habitual creature though – what rises, too will fall. I just have to try and be mindful of it and be in charge of it.

DumpaDay. com

Goodreads Challenge Book 4 – The Good People by Hannah Kent.

This week I read “The Good People”. Hannah is an Australian author, whom I first discovered after after watching her on Australian Story. The episode left me speechless and I knew I had to read Burial Rights . Which I loved.

My book task for this week was to read a book which a friend loves. My girlfriend had read it and spoken highly of it and bought me a copy as a gift.

The Good People is set in County Kerry, Ireland in 1825 and is historical fiction. It is a story of three women who are brought together under very strange circumstances. This book reminds you of human nature, superstitions, small-town gossip, the force of Catholicism and rejection of any other ‘pagan’ practices in Ireland in the 1800’s.

If you like reading about Irish Folklore and human nature – then this is a great book. I loved it, I loved it as much as I loved Burial Rights and I eagerly await Hannah’s third book!

This week has been rough around the world, it is in a state of despair. I had to practice some ignorance the last couple of days and avoid the news, some days the sadness and the tragedy and death and state of the world is too much. Sometimes I cannot comprehend the state of all of it. So….this week, my list differs.

What I have learnt this week:

  • I need to practice mindfulness more.
  • Human nature, gossip and suspicion will often override the truth or even common sense.
  • Sometimes seeing someone we know and love change is so difficult we can refuse to believe that they are “the same person”.

As I am sure everyone else has noticed, this week has been rough around the world, it is in a state of despair. I had to practice some ignorance the last couple of days and avoid the news, some days the sadness and the tragedy and death and state of the world is too much. Sometimes I cannot comprehend the state of all of it. So….this week, I decided to find some positive news stories:

  • This week Siberian fire fighters rescued 150 piglets from a farm fire.
  • Some supermarkets are trialling a new “relaxed” lane for customers with special needs.
  • Norway is creating a $400million rainforest fund, with the help of some large corporations.
  • A little boy in the States has opened up a ‘free toy-stand’ instead of a lemonade stand for those who are less fortunate than him.

Wishing everyone a lovely week – we have a four day working week here due to Australia Day, I only just realised that this was this week. Win!

Lucy

x

2 thoughts on “Week 4: Choice, Chance, Change(ling). Goodreads Challenge Book 4.

  1. I really like how you blog about your life and just kind of mention the book you’re reading. That’s interesting and new 😉 And yes, 3 whole pounds sounds like you really did some work! I guess that’s why we’re still using the backward system here in the States lol

    Like

    1. Thank you! I thought it would be something extra for me to do, to not just finish a book, but to see if I could at all apply it to my life :). I am all for the pound system when it comes to LOSING weight hehe. Mind over matter! I hope you’re having a lovely week 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

